Short Film Research – Call The Shots

Since I became an official member at Call The Shots, I decided to attend every meeting I could. At each meeting, we were shown an ‘inspirational video’ – something that was designed to encourage creativity the the group’s members (not dissimilar from the styles of lectures we had in our second year). Here were two beautifully shot pieces that were shown:

*cough* Iceland *cough*

Although these showed the sort of high-quality videos that could be taken in the industry, they developed me very little in the way of advancing my own FMP. That was, at least, until the meeting in March, which (of all things) featured a music video from the ‘Steam Punk’ style of mise-en-scene – a neighbouring style of ‘Gothic’. The music video was almost entirely green screen, but it was designed to tell a metaphorical story about heartbreak as the music played:

Although a lot of meaning was lost, it was a sure way of stating that goth-punk visuals were a way of making a story look more interesting. This was only part-relevant to my own film as this was primarily a CGI project, but the idea behind it was the same. It looked unusual, and thus allowed you to think more about what it was trying to say. When you’re looking outside of your comfort zone, you seem to pay more attention, and actively engage in the media to a greater degree.

Something that went up on the Facebook page quite recently was another short film. It was a comedy about a strange event in a mundane office environment (not dissimilar from my previous film The Job Interview).

I liked the film – it made me chuckle. Obviously in the realms of comedy you have to merge the boundaries of what is believable and what would actually happen, but I think it pulled the premise of the story off quite well. The production values were high – visually, I think my own FMP matches it (which means I’m on the right track!) I have yet to see if my audio turns out as good as this as well!

As a side note, there was a little video that popped up in university just before Iceland, demonstrating exactly how you could make a film without a single line of dialogue.

Again, this was a comedy, but unlike The New Boss, this one had much darker content material, and the desolate mise-en-scene of Iceland demonstrated as such. What I liked about this quirky little piece is that it was a film that – much like the music video – a had a universal appeal. You do not need to know any language – it is purely acting, mise-en-scene, and audio sounds, and the story is conveyed through those three mediums alone. This brings a whole new meaning to the phrase ‘keep it simple, stupid’. I mean wow – how much more minimalist can you get? (And I thought my film was simple!!)

Leave a Reply

